top of page

Interview: 5 minutes with...Jules Brown, Actor, Not Waving Short Film.

As part of the pre-production on our upcoming short films to support our crowdfunding campaign we're going to be sitting down with the cast and creatives of each both Not Waving & Lawnmower to pick their brains on all things to do with the film.

Yesterday, I sat down with Jules Brown who will be playing Henry in Not Waving for a quick five minute interview...and it had to be quick, he was in his dressing room waiting to go on stage at The Churchill Theatre, Bromley to play Ronnie Worthington in Ray Cooney's Out of Order.

Jules Brown Actor in Not Waving Short Film

Jules Brown, Actor, currently appearing in Ray Cooney's Out of Order

Kate Sawyer: Thanks for sitting down with me Jules, I know you are waiting for your call to stage! Tell us a bit about yourself...

Jules Brown: I'm Jules Brown, I'm an actor and I'm playing HENRY one of the lifesavers in the film. I'm currently performing in Ray Cooney;s Out of Order at the Churchill Theatre Bromley. To be more specific, I'm in my dressing room with about 30min until I have to go on!

KS: In Not Waving you’re saving someone (James Holmes who is playing STEVIE) from the sea…is your swimming up to the task?

JB: Yes, I've been swimming from a very young age because I grew up in Bournemouth, a seaside town. I learned to swim when I was 18 months old. According to my mum I jumped in a swimming pool as a baby and sank straight to the bottom! That was my first swimming lesson, I guess. Since then I've swam competitively for my county and at school. I've also done my RNLI beach life guarding qualification, but I think it may have expired now ;) it was a while ago.

KS: Hmm, well with the magic of film you certainly won’t be getting out of your depth during filming! So hopefully your certificate won’t be required! If you’ve competed and you’re a certified lifeguard can we assume you’ve never had any swimming related incidents yourself?

JB: Well…I did nearly drown in the river Stour once, when I drove a beach buggy into the river by accident and couldn't escape the vehicle! It was quite scary but fortunately my brother, Ashley, was there. He jumped into the water after he saw me go off the edge and probably saved my life.

KS: Thank goodness for your brother's vigilance. A heart-warming tale of brotherly love! So you grew up by the sea. When where you last by the sea?

JB: It was with you actually, I last went to the seaside in Cornwall about 2 months ago. Out of Order was on in Truro, and a group of us went to Perranporth beach and rented wetsuits and bodyboards and we all went surfing for a couple of hours! The waves were huge and it was like being in a washing machine! But it was great fun!

The Out of Order company on Perranporth beach

The Out of Order Company on Perranporth Beach

(L-R: Kate Sawyer, Jules Brown, Sven Lumpful, James Holmes, Raphael Bar)

KS: Yes- that was my first time in the sea for such a long time. It was a new experience for me! Is Perranporth your favourite beach then?

JB: Perranporth has great waves but my favourite is probably Studland beach in Poole, it's so beautiful and peaceful.

KS: Any favourite memories from growing up by the sea?

JB: Playing on a floating pontoon/raft which my dad had built. It was amazing! And could fit about 10 of us on it. We were the most popular kids on the beach because of it!

KS: As you know part of my inspiration for Not Waving comes from the famous Stevie Smith Poem. Are you into poetry?

JB: Um. Er. Oooh. Not really. But I remember studying William Blake and Wilfred Owen at school and found their poems on WW1 very moving. I suppose as an actor i could also say Shakespeare.

KS: What are you most looking forward to about filming Not Waving?

JB: Running slow motion down the beach like David Hasselhoff! (he laughs) Oh, is that not happening?!

KS: I haven’t currently got it in my shot list, no…

JB: Ok, in that case I'm looking forward to the physical challenge of saving a drowning man or at least staging it so it seems realistic for film, as I've never done anything like that before. Also, it will be fun to work with all the other cast involved. Due to the subject matter you’ve cast quite a few of the actors currently in Out of Order, we've all been on tour together for such a long time it’ll be interesting to work on something different with them!

KS: Okay let’s finish off with a quick fire round…don’t think just say what comes into your head…Ice cream or Cockles?

JB: Ice Cream.

KS: 'Kiss me quick' or 'Sex on the beach'?

JB: Sex on the beach.

KS: Waving or Drowning?

JB: Waving!

KS: Sunbathe or swim in the sea?

JB: Swim in the sea. Every time.

Not Waving will be filmed mid-July with a 2018 release following a run at International Film Festivals. Follow Jules on Twitter & IMDB to keep up with what he's doing.

Be part of the story,

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page