top of page

Interview: 5 minutes with...Jeff Harmer, Actor, Not Waving Short Film

We’re counting down to filming on the beach in Southend-on-sea. Today myself and Ricky J Payne are doing our recce on the beach and tomorrow the first bit of filming begins! As it would happen (as I planned it) much of the cast of Not Waving are in Southend-on-sea this week as they are all playing at the Palace Theatre in Ray Cooney’s Out of Order!

As I'm currently touring in the production, I’ve nabbed a lot of my cast mates to be in the film as it makes sense with proximity but also because there are echos of the experience of being part of a theatrical company in the story-telling of Not Waving.

Jeff Harmer, Actor, Not Waving Short Film

Last week I sat down with one of the actors who is kindly donating their time to my project. Jeffrey Harmer, who plays the lead role, Richard Willey in Out of Order and will be playing one of the people having a picnic at the beach in Not Waving.

Kate Sawyer: Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

Jeffrey Harmer: I’m Jeff Harmer I’m going to be one of the actors having a picnic on Not Waving.

KS: Where are you right now.

JH: In my dressing room, waiting to go on as Richard Willey in Out of Order by Ray Cooney.

KS: Much of Not Waving centres around a near drowning in the sea. Have you ever witnessed a drowning?

JH: Yes. A girl was held upside down on Eastbourne beach when I was a child. They had to do it to get all of the water out of her after she nearly drowned.

KS: But no near misses yourself?

JH: No, I’m a strong swimmer. I learnt in Eastbourne and I love to swim.

KS: When did you last go to the seaside? What did you do there?

JH: I went on a boat trip with my fellow Out of Order cast mates Sue Holderness and David Warwick in Swansea just yesterday. It was a beautiful day to be on the water!

Jeff Harmer (left) playing Richard Willey in Out of Order alongside Arthur Bostrom, Shaun Williamson and David Warwick.

KS: Do you have a favourite beach in the UK? Why?

JH: Eastbourne, where I grew up. I have very fond memories of diving off the bandstand there.

KS: Not Waving gets its title from a Stevie Smith Poem. Do you have a favourite poem?

JH: Yes, I love Mr Cooper by Anthony Thwaite.

KS: Everyone will have to look that one up! Okay time for a quick-fire round, are you ready?

JH: Go for it!

KS: Ice cream or Cockles?

JH: Ice-cream

KS: Kiss me quick or Sex on the beach?

JH: Kiss me quick.

KS: Waving or Drowning?

JH: Waving.

KS: Sunbathe or swim in the sea?

JH: Both! Sunbathe and swim!

KS: Greedy! Finally, what are you most looking forward to about your role in making Not Waving?

JH: Watching how the film is made.

Follow Jeff on Twitter @JeffHarmer123 and catch him in Out of Order playing the lead, Richard Willey in Southend-on-sea this week and Nottingham next. Tickets: www.cooneyonstage.co.uk

 

*Please help us bring Not Waving and Lawnmower, two short films from The Curious Room to life by SUPPORTING our Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign by CONTRIBUTING NOW*

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page