top of page

Interview: 5 minutes with...Shaun Williamson, Actor, Not Waving

It’s been a couple of weeks since we completed filming on Not Waving, tomorrow Ricky J Payne and I (Kate Sawyer, director) are heading to the editing suite to get our first rough cut, terribly exciting!

We had some incredible actors involved in the filming, not least Shaun Williamson. I’ve been on tour with Shaun in Out of Order a Ray Cooney farce since March. Playing George Pigden was a very demanding role, so we were really lucky for Shaun to donate his time to filming. He is a very busy man, both on and off stage so I left interviewing Shaun until our last week in Nottingham…thankfully I managed to squeeze in ‘5 minutes with…’ him before we finished the tour.

Shaun Williamson, Actor, Not Waving

Kate Sawyer: Could you tell us a little about yourself and what you are doing at the moment?

Shaun Williamson: I am Shaun Williamson and I am an actor best known for Eastenders and Ricky Gervais' Extras. I’m currently in my dressing room at Royal Theatre Nottingham soon to go on stage in Out of Order. I play a beach goer in Not Waving.

KS: We filmed on the beach but your action didn’t involve getting in the sea. Are you much of a swimmer?

SW:I swim badly. I have limited buoyancy.

KS: Ha ha! Has there ever been any proof of this limited buoyancy? Any lucky escapes?

SW: I had to be scooped out of the pool during my Navy swimming exam. Wasn't too embarrassing !!!!

KS: When were you last at the seaside?

SW: I went to the seaside when we were in Truro on tour with Out Of Order.

KS: Yes, Cornwall beaches are gorgeous. Is that your favourite British seaside haunt?

SW: Actually, I think it’s Eastbourne.

KS: Do you have any favourite memories involving the seaside?

SW: Childhood holidays to the Kent coast.

Shaun being directed by Kate Sawyer on location for Not Waving with Ricky J Payne & Mollie Hill.

KS: Not Waving gets its title from a Stevie Smith Poem. Do you have a favourite poem?

SW: The Tyger by William Blake

Tyger Tyger, burning bright,

In the forests of the night;

What immortal hand or eye,

Could frame thy fearful symmetry?

In what distant deeps or skies.

Burnt the fire of thine eyes?

On what wings dare he aspire?

What the hand, dare seize the fire?

And what shoulder, & what art,

Could twist the sinews of thy heart?

And when thy heart began to beat,

What dread hand? & what dread feet?

What the hammer? what the chain,

In what furnace was thy brain?

What the anvil? what dread grasp,

Dare its deadly terrors clasp!

When the stars threw down their spears

And water'd heaven with their tears:

Did he smile his work to see?

Did he who made the Lamb make thee?

Tyger Tyger burning bright,

In the forests of the night:

What immortal hand or eye,

Dare frame thy fearful symmetry?

KS: I don't think I've ever read the whole thing before- it's a lot! I'm going to have to come back to it. Time for a quick-fire round. Don’t think about it too much, just go with your gut…Ice cream or Cockles?

SW: Ice Cream.

KS: Funny, not one of the company said cockles! Kiss me quick or Sex on the beach?

SW: Sex on the beach.

KS:Waving or Drowning?

SW: Drowning.

KS: Sunbathe or swim in the sea?

SW: Neither!!!!

KS: What are most looking forward to about your role in making Not Waving or I should say, what did you enjoy?

SW: I enjoyed the filming…but I’m most looking forward to the repeat fees!

KS: I hope I can fulfil that Shaun..!

Follow Shaun on twitter @ShaunWilliamson to find out what he's up to next...

 

Huge thanks to all that have already supported our crowdfunding campaign so far. We still need some help to finish making Not Waving and to make Lawnmower happen. If you can contribute or know someone who might be interested in being part of these films please check out our CROWDFUNDING CAMPAIGN video. Thank you!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page