top of page

Interview: 5 minutes with...Sue Holderness

As hinted at when I announced the casting of Not Waving we have a couple of rather exciting guest stars who have kindly agreed to donate their time and considerable talents to our film. One of these extremely generous people is Sue Holderness. An actress with an incredible stage career, Sue is widely known for playing the iconic part of Marlene Boyce in Only Fools and Horses and The Green Green Grass. I am absolutely thrilled to have Sue working on this project.

Sue Holderness, Actor, Not Waving

Mindful of not taking up too much of Sue’s time whilst she is still playing Mrs Willey in Ray Cooney’s Out of Order I caught a quick 5 minutes with Sue whilst she was on her commute to New Theatre, Oxford for the evening performance.

Kate Sawyer: Sue, could you introduce yourself and tell us what you’ll be doing in the film…

Sue Holderness: I’m an Actress. I’ll be playing a picnic person on beach in Not Waving.

KS: Where are you right now?

SH: On Park and Rides bus into Oxford.

KS: Not Waving has a lot to do with the sea. Are you a swimmer yourself?

SH: Yes. I learnt to swim in Cyprus on holiday with my family when I was tiny. I love swimming.

KS: So you are a strong swimmer? No near misses with water?

SH: Yes. I nearly drowned. I was eight and snorkelling in Cyprus (the favourite holiday destination for my family) Water got into the snorkel pipe and I panicked when I couldn't breathe and sucked in water.

KS: Thank goodness you were saved. I’ve experienced that too- it’s a horrible sensation. When did you last go to the seaside?

SH: We performed in Brighton. I had fish, chips, mushy peas and "Builder’s tea" with cast mates of Out of Order.

KS: Do you have a favourite beach in the UK?

SH: Yes. Eastbourne, because I have spent many happy hours there when performing at the Devonshire Park theatre.

KS: What is your favourite memory of a British Beach?

SH: Making sand castles with excellent moats on Frinton beach and the ice cream!

KS: Not Waving gets its title from a Stevie Smith Poem. Do you have a favourite poem?

SH: Shakespeare's sonnets are pretty good.

KS: Okay, time for my favourite bit. The quick fire round. Don’t think about it too much, just say what comes into your mind first…Ice cream or Cockles?

SH: Ice Cream.

KS: Kiss me quick or Sex on the beach?

SH: Sex on the beach.

KS: Waving or Drowning?

SH: Waving.

KS: Sunbathe on the beach or swim in the sea?

SH: Swim in the sea.

KS: And finally…what are you most looking forward to about your role in making Not Waving?

SH: My character loves ice cream I've decided. So I'm looking forward to a steady stream of ice cream cones.

Follow Sue on Twitter @SueHolderness to keep up with what she is performing in next. Out of Order runs until the 22nd of July 2017- www.cooneyonstage.com

 

*Support our Indiegogo Crowdfunding Campaign to get two British Short Films made! WATCH our crowdfunding video & DONATE to our campaign! Perks start at as little £5!*

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page